California - Southern California S2000 Owners Southern California S2000 Owners

Racing with FSures

Old 09-29-2003, 09:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Racing with FSures

This passed weekend I went racing with Fred at the Streets at Willow. It was a 2 day event with the Shelby Cobra club. There were 4 S2000's out there including us. The track is freshly paved. There are a couple of good turns with some rooster markings on the pavement. My skills as a driver have improved dramatically. I am still learning the terms used in racing/driving events. Gotta get the lingo down. I met some great people and plan to make this a practice as money will allow. Here's what you can expect at most driving events:

Instruction one on one with an experienced instructor/driver
Safe and respectful drivers
No guts no glory
Passing okay on the straight away
The opportunity to move to the next group pending skills improvement
A great time with great people
Pointers and comparisons

I met all of the S2000 owners. There was a guy there who has the exact model and interior matching mine. Now that is rare. He too was running stock with racing tires. I run stock with street tires and Neuspeed springs. I did put on new brake pads that are racing/street pads. I bought them from Docofmind. Great brakes!!!

By afternoon of the first day I was given the option to join the intermediate group and by the mid morning of the 2nd day I was given the option to race in any class. Technical skills are everything. Speed comes as you hit the marks.

A little instruction and lots of practice goes a long way. Any time you have an opportunity to race with one of the racing clubs, take it. Take it easy on the first couple of rounds and see how well the organizers control the drivers. This will tell you how the weekend will turn out. Some clubs have more control and some have less. Some require roll cages and others do not.