Aus & NZ Off Topic For all non S2000 related topics

OT- Buying a diamond/diamond ring

Old 06-18-2007, 09:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT- Buying a diamond/diamond ring

Guys,

I wish to purchase a diamond ring for a gift and I have no experience in this area so I'd appreciate some advice if any of you have any. That said I'm not after a lecture on what a waste it is (looking at you RS4) just some help, thanks.

My Dad's cousin is a jeweller and while I trust him he's not immediate family so I'm not sure how to handle things. What I mean by that is, I've been told that you should always buy the diamond separate or you will pay too much and even though he will do a good job for me I don't think he'll forego the usual mark up on the rock(s).

So am I on the right track? If so can anyone recommend where/who I should be talking to for the diamonds? I'm very nervous dropping my hard earned on something that I can't value with me own eye so any advice about what to look for with rip offs would help too. I understand there's a certificate of authenticity but I'm not yet comfortable about how much security that will offer me so any advice here would be great.

Cheers guys.

Aust.
Old 06-18-2007, 09:48 PM

most ppl buying jewelleries will get ripped off anyway, the mark up is very high. bt at most places u can bargain, 50-70% off is possible if u tried hard enuf and not buying it during their "peak season". after u purchased it, take it to an independnet examiner, let them look at it for u, if its diff to wat the certificate states u can ask for refund. unless u r in the industry, i believe its very difficult to tell the good ones from bad with our raw eyes.
Old 06-18-2007, 11:04 PM

Oh noes!! Does this mean what I think?

There are several wholesalers in the city. I went diamond shopping recently with a friend for his engagement ring in Sydney.

We went to 2 diamond wholesalers, both were recommended by friends, BUT I can't remember the details of them.