California - Southern California S2000 Owners Southern California S2000 Owners

To LeaRn Korean

Old 01-09-2009, 05:43 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default To LeaRn Korean

Well people, I studied some japanese back in school, most of which is forgotten sadly.

HOWEVER, I work for a Korean owned company and at this point I think it'd be highly beneficial to be able to speak it at least a little, or even understand some for that matter.

SO, I've considered "Rosetta stone" so I could study on my own. Then I figure I know a decent amount of Koreans that can speak in purposely around me after a while and help clear up confusing things if I get stuck etc.

Anyone tried "Rosetta Stone" ? I'm really anxious to learn at least some Korean.

-Greg
Old 01-09-2009, 06:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

All I would say is learn a language know as when you get older it will be almost impossible to learn one.
Old 01-09-2009, 06:39 AM

a while back I tried it for Mandarin. To give you a bit of background, I can get around on my Mandarin (ask questions, mostly understand the answers about food, directions) that I picked up on my own - books, flashcards and just trying. I can't hold a real conversation though.

I bought Rosetta Stone, and found it... disappointing. I didn't use all the functions (like the microphone for practice) but did use a lot of the other stuff within the system. What I didn't like was that it didn't give explanations of why you didn't get something right or wrong. Typically there would be four pictures - like a boy standing above, then behind, then below, then in front of an airplane. The sentence would be given (you can choose oral/written or both), and you have to choose the right picture. Sometimes I would get something right, but not sure why, or wrong, and not sure why. It got frustrating because my grammar wasn't great to start with, so it became hard of trying to figure out both grammar and vocab at the same time.