S2000 Engine Management Engine management topics, map and advice.

tuning out knock? please help

Old 11-27-2009, 09:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tuning out knock? please help

im new to tuning my flashpro and have gotten my a/f in a good area but am still a little confused as to what i should be looking for when tuning out knock. on my datalogs there are a knock retard degree and a knock level percent, im confuse as to which one is the key to tuning this and how to go about it. any advice is greatly appreciated. on my pulls its showing 1 to 2 degree knock retard at full throttle but 60-70 knock level percent. that doesnt sound too good to me but i dont know what exactly im looking for. please let me know what you guys think, thank you
Old 11-27-2009, 09:09 AM

Ignore the knock retard and knock %. The only thing to look at is the knock count.

https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=745922
Old 11-27-2009, 09:26 AM

[QUOTE=dstevens,Nov 27 2009, 10:09 AM] Ignore the knock retard and knock %.
Old 11-27-2009, 09:37 AM

The only thing you want to worry about is knock count and where it is being seen.

If you read anything that Hondata posted in the link above, he mentions that the ecu will apply knock retard throughout the rpm range if it sees knock at an earlier portion of the pull.

So really you want to look and see where you are accumulating any knock count and try retarding the timing in that portion of the map to eliminate any knock.

But this can also be counter productive as the knock sensor can pick up vibrations and other noise and record it as false knock. So if you are pulling out a ton of timing and the knock count still is not going away, it is more than likely an issue else where in the car (exhaust rattle, etc).