Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Bitcoin

Old 01-05-2014, 05:09 PM

Received 103 Likes on 67 Posts
Default Bitcoin

Discuss.

There is a lot of misinformation out there about it.
Im among one of the skeptics that have invested though.
I don't believe it is a ponzi scheme like some.

Im currently up $5k in profits from the last bust (bought in at 565).
Old 01-07-2014, 10:02 AM

Received 105 Likes on 81 Posts

Have you sold any and converted them to cash yet?
Old 01-07-2014, 01:47 PM

Originally Posted by rwheelz
Have you sold any and converted them to cash yet?
yes I've been buying and selling for about 3 months now.

Bitcoin isn't hard to sell/buy. You just have to use a wallet (Like a bank) that you trust.
CoinBase.com is the only one i trust.
Old 01-07-2014, 02:00 PM
Community Organizer

Received 185 Likes on 163 Posts

explain mining for bitcoins.
Old 01-07-2014, 07:53 PM

Received 784 Likes on 434 Posts

Hey Joe-

Mining is simple!?!?!?!? While I don't get all of it, here's what I think I might know.... I believe the concept of mining is to put a traditional analogy against a new and relatively unknown 'something'. The idea I believe is that will only ever be X bitcoins available, just like there's only Y gold available, Z platinum, etc....

So, you run your PC all day and night with special applications designed to compare a value in a set of data against the next known (any known) matching value for a coin (or the results of the algorithm for a coin, or something). The current difficulty is a coin every 1,418,481,395 hash compares. There's also something like blocks and crap.... Every so often, the difficulty of finding one increases based on how long it took to find the last group. So, it gets harder and harder to find one.