Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Computers

Old 09-08-2008, 10:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Computers

I have been working on computers since i was 11 yrs old (21 now) and currently working as an IT.

My Company currently spends a huge amount of money on computers and such. I realized that building a computer would be more cheaper than buying a whole system.

I got to thinking that with my knowledge and resources i could possibly build a computer more powerful for the price of 450$. The 450$ will have the same specs as a 800$ dell computer, 950$ HP computer, 700$ acer computer, and the list goes on.

My question is, if you knew that my 450$ machine(everything is brand new by the way) can provide the quality, reliability, and functionality that a desktop might need, Would you buy the 450$ computer or would you go to the other route that everybody else takes and get a bulk order of computers with maybe 50$ off each?

The Computers i was building ranged from 250$ to 500$, i just thought that a consumer would want to have options depending on his needs.

Due to where i work and lack of social life i dont really have the time to converse with people that has real opinions to the matter. I am currently doing stocks and always looking for great ideas to further my financial status.

any feed back would be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-08-2008, 10:53 AM

Originally Posted by jclamor87,Sep 8 2008, 01:40 PM
My Company currently spends a huge amount of money on computers and such. I realized that building a computer would be more cheaper than buying a whole system.
It's really not signficantly cheaper if cheaper at all anymore.