Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Newb questions on buying/handing physical gold bullion

Old 08-09-2011, 09:39 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Thumbs up Newb questions on buying/handing physical gold bullion

I'm new at this so forgive the ignorance. Anyone here have experience in purchasing and owning physical gold? Not looking for numismatics, just simple bullion coins to preserve purchasing power. Just a few questions...

1. Where are good places to buy physical gold? I've been considering Euro Pacific Precious Metals (www.europacmetals.com). From what I know of Peter Schiff, he seems to be honorable and respectable. Don't know about his rates but I would feel confident about the quality of the merchandise.

2. Are there any other hassles after I purchase physical gold? Like would I need to report "income" on how much the value of gold rises relative to USD? Wouldn't make sense as it's USD that's losing value, not that the gold is gaining.

3. In case the economy tanks and I need to get the heck out of Dodge before airports are shut down... would I have issues carrying gold coins on an airplane? Customs require you declare them if the monetary value exceeds $10k. BUT, are they referring to the intrinsic value (currently $1760/oz) or the face value (I think just $50 on a 1oz American gold coin)? I would think the face value because A)that is fixed and not open for interpretation and does not change value by the second, and B)as legal tender, I can only purchase $50 worth of goods if I tried to use it at any store, I can't head into Best Buy and walk out with $1760 worth of goods.