New York - Metro New York S2000 Owners Owners in New York City, Long Island, New Jersey, Connecticut

Happy New Year

Old 01-01-2009, 01:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Happy New Year

Lots of New Years posts recently, but I'm sure you haven't seen one from this side of the world. I'm here in Manila for work, but since the holidays are upon us, I get some vacation on the side as well.

The pictures below are from Makati City, Metro Manila. Apologies as not all the pictures came out perfectly due to low lighting conditions, and the fact that this is my first time using a DSLR.

It had just started raining. It's the rainy season right now unfortunately, but it wasn't too bad. Many people were watching the action from far away on this footbridge connecting to mall complexes.

Random people on the bridge.

Well, I had to get closer to the action. No way, I flew 10K+ miles to watch 2009 start from afar. As I walked closer, the smell of food hit me. I'm sure some of you know what local Filipino food smells like, but it's GOOD. Lots of street vendors selling food, snacks, clothes, and light-up toys.

When I arrived, the countdown clock was at ~34 minutes or so. The crowd was pretty intense already.

This guy is apparently someone famous. Sang some songs in Tagalog and also in English. The crowd was mostly natives, but lots of foreigners as well.

28 minutes, y0!

Random people in the crowd.

These two people are also famous apparently. The girl, who was quite hot, was something like Miss Philippines or something. They mentioned it, but I couldn't understand. They gave out some prizes (digital cameras) and those 5 or 6 winners got in a drawing to win 1 million pesos. That's about $21275 at the current exchange rate. That's damn big money over here.

Getting closer!

19 seconds!!!!11111one!1!BBQWTF!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

At this point I just about lost my hearing haha. The confetti starting flying around, but then the rain started to get heavy again.