Off-topic Talk Where overpaid, underworked S2000 owners waste the worst part of their days before the drive home. This forum is for general chit chat and discussions not covered by the other off-topic forums.

Advice on new Laptop for video editing

Old 10-29-2015, 09:07 AM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Advice on new Laptop for video editing

Hey guys I am looking for a new laptop that has enough power to do video editing and HD video playback. Currently I am using an HP pavilion g7 (purchased in 2013?) notebook but it is pretty laggy. Not sure of the specs for this computer but I have noticed that it doesnt like playing back some of my GoPro videos (especially the 1080p ones) and slows down a lot if I am playing games.
People keep telling me to get a MacBook Pro but I want to see what other options are available. I will be using Adobe Premiere as my editing software. I have basic experience on windows movie editor but I learn quick. I am open to all opinions on both laptop and editing software.
Thanks in advance!
Old 10-29-2015, 10:04 AM

Received 1,541 Likes on 1,418 Posts

Originally Posted by dv55xc
Hey guys I am looking for a new laptop that has enough power to do video editing and HD video playback. Currently I am using an HP pavilion g7 (purchased in 2013?) notebook but it is pretty laggy. Not sure of the specs for this computer but I have noticed that it doesnt like playing back some of my GoPro videos (especially the 1080p ones) and slows down a lot if I am playing games.
People keep telling me to get a MacBook Pro but I want to see what other options are available. I will be using Adobe Premiere as my editing software. I have basic experience on windows movie editor but I learn quick. I am open to all opinions on both laptop and editing software.
Thanks in advance!