Off-topic Talk Where overpaid, underworked S2000 owners waste the worst part of their days before the drive home. This forum is for general chit chat and discussions not covered by the other off-topic forums.

Calling all rotary wing pilots

Old 11-01-2008, 03:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Calling all rotary wing pilots

I know there is a varied group of people here on s2ki.com so I figured I'd check here to see if anyone has their rotary wing private ticket (or above). Over the past several years I've taken a couple "discovery flights" in fixed wing aircraft (maybe 5 hours or so of stick time). Today though, I took my first rotary wing flight lesson and all I have to say is I've figured out what I want to do when I "grow up". Because of the cost I'm thinking that maybe I should go with getting my fixed wing first then move on.....anyone have any advice?
Old 11-01-2008, 06:50 PM

Hi there, this is Sogno's son. I'm a fixed wing pilot, and I've been flying for 6 years. As for getting your fixed wing license first, I would not advise that. If your end goal is becoming a rotary wing pilot, I would advise you to obtain your rotary wing license only. There are a number of reasons for this. You mentioned cost. The cost of getting your fixed wing license only would be a lot less than getting both fixed and rotary licenses.