Off-topic Talk Where overpaid, underworked S2000 owners waste the worst part of their days before the drive home. This forum is for general chit chat and discussions not covered by the other off-topic forums.

I need a new credit card

Old 02-23-2006, 07:00 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I need a new credit card

Okay, so here goes. I've had a Discover card since I was 18 (I'm 25 now). It was the first card I got, and up until recently, I've been very happy with them. Lately, I started realizing they aren't as good as they used to be. I originally got it because of the cash back bonus. I have a second card, a MasterCard, that gives me a higher credit line (by a lot), lower interest rate, and more cash back. Needless to say, I've been using that one a lot more.

Unless someone can give me a prudent financial reason NOT to get rid of my Discover, it's as good as gone. For the record, I have impeccable credit, and I'm doing this primarily as a financial exercise. This was all prompted when I called my MC company up and requested a lower interest rate just for the hell of it. The guy on the phone took about 30 seconds to come back and tell me he could lower it TWO full points right then and there. I then called Discover, and they told me they don't do that over the phone, and that I'd have to fill out a form and send it in to them to request a lower rate. This is asinine. I don't wanna fill out a form. I want a lower interest rate NOW. With this happening, the gap between the two cards is even bigger than ever. If Discover doesn't want to play ball, someone else can take my $$.

I get about three credit card offers in the mail a day, all of them promising between 2-4% APR on my balance transfers until the transfer is paid off. I have been thinking about a few select cards, and would just like anyone's personal experience with them.

1. American Express Blue Cash - Pretty much same as Discover, but better service.