Off-topic Talk Where overpaid, underworked S2000 owners waste the worst part of their days before the drive home. This forum is for general chit chat and discussions not covered by the other off-topic forums.

Need some advice from martial artists

Old 05-31-2003, 11:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some advice from martial artists

I've been learning Shaolin Kenpo at a place called United Studios of Self Defense for the last 2 months and I'm feeling a bit unsatisfied - I train 3 1/2 hours a week there, and although I'm still learning the basics I'm getting the feeling that it's not for me. I was under the impression that Kenpo was a much more "hardcore" version of traditional Karate and had elements of Kung Fu in its more advanced stages.

The problem is I'm training with people that seem to be treating this as more of just fun, aerobic exercise than an actual martial art. We have sparring classes every Friday night and last night, even though I've only been there for 2 months, I felt like I had to "go easy" on the people I was sparring with and that they had to go easy on me. The usual age groups during these sparring classes are ~15-17 and ~28+. This means making little or no contact, and only pretending to get the shot in. This may sound a little strange but I don't want to go easy on anyone and I don't want them to go easy on me. I want to feel what it's like to get kicked in the ribs if I don't block correctly and I want to be able to target their entire body, not just their upper torso, which excludes their face, back, and legs. When I watch the upper belt levels sparring I do notice that they're hitting each other pretty hard but still, they can only target the upper body.