Photography and Videography Tips, techniques and equipment for taking great photographs and videos. Come here for advice and critique on your photos and videos. To show off your S2000 go to The Gallery

Southeast Utah in early October

Old 10-21-2010, 05:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Southeast Utah in early October

Hi all,

Two weeks ago, I was in Southeast Utah for a week-long photography trip around Moab. I've only just now gotten around to saving some of the images for the web to post them here. None of these images have had more than minor adjustments done to them; they are virtually right out of the camera.

The first image I'd like to share is the Pueblo Indian ruin known as House On Fire. This ruin is in South Mule Canyon in the Cedar Mesa area about 2 hours south of Moab...

Interesting tidbit: when I arrived at the ruin, I was the only person around. About half an hour after I started shooting, another photographer showed up and we started talking shop. Turns out he's paid by a calendar/post card company to travel around the country in his motor home to shoot pictures. His name is Mike Jones and his Flikr site is: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mikejonesphoto/

The next image was taken in the afternoon after I got back to Moab from House on Fire. This is an image taken from Grand View Point in Canyonlands National Park in the Island in the Sky district:

I didn't encounter any famous photographers while waiting for the sunlight to do interesting things with that setting.

The next image was actually the last one I shot on my trip. It's a small Pine on the edge of Dead Horse Point:

There was a gentleman shooting near me that morning with a prototype of the new GigaPixel tripod mount. Looks very interesting. I might have to get one when they come on sale.

This last is a self-portrait. I love putting the G10 on a tripod and shooting self portraits: