S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

[HELP] Suspension setting to reduce oversteer

Old 11-07-2010, 09:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy [HELP] Suspension setting to reduce oversteer

I just picked up my 2002 AP1 S2000 2 days ago. And I've already spun the car once in a corner (luckily nothing/noone was hurt).

The problem is, I don't know much about modification but my car came with quite a bit of suspendsion mods on it already (it was someone's SCCA auto-x/road racing car).

I don't know whether it is my driving style (I've been an FF driver since I learnt to drive) or the car setup, it spun at just 30km/h (~19mph) which I took with my FA5 Civic Si at double the speed.

I've asked the previous owner about the mods. There are quite a bunch of bars under the car (X-member, 2 bars running from the front to mid-rear of the car), among them are 2 pretty thick Comptech sway bars which are 32 front and rear. Does that mean the car will oversteer quite a bit? Tires are running stock spec with spacers to clear the front BBK, and tires are like 80% new (6/32" front, 8/32" rear). It also comes with Tein coilover (Flex) with electronic control.

Should I just give more seat time or should I swap the rear sway bar with the stock one? I'm kinda scared in corners right now...(even in intersections). I was running the TEIN at F:6, R:8 when I spun the car, and now I'm running F:6, R:16 (softest setting)...but still I don't know whether I should lower my rear tire pressure first or just swap the rear sway bar...

Thanks in advance.
Old 11-07-2010, 11:16 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

What is your tire pressure? Spinning the car at 19 mph doesn't sound right unless you were doing something completely wrong.
Old 11-08-2010, 12:26 AM