S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

Newbie Needs Suggestions - Pads AutoX and Light Track Use

Old 08-01-2017, 03:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Needs Suggestions - Pads AutoX and Light Track Use

Hey gents,

I'm new to the S2000 game! I recently acquired a pretty clean 2003 S2000 with currently 29k on the clock. The vehicle has pretty much sat, with only about 1800 miles driven in the last 3 years. I've already changed all fluids (coolant, dif, trans) and have replaced the brake fluid with ATE Blue. The vehicle will be seeing mostly street use. Although, I'm considering using it for AutoX, and maybe taking it to a small track by me (The FIRM in Starke, FL). I've done karting, but I have no first hand experience with AutoX or Tracking so I'll be learning as I go.

Since the brake lines are almost vintage, I'll be replacing them with a fresh OEM set to keep it compliant for AutoX stock class. And I'll be changing the brake rotors for a fresh OEM set as well, or maybe some Brembo blanks.

I think almost all my bases covered in regards to getting this thing ready to go... Except for brakes pads...

I've narrowed my pad choice down to Winmax W4s, Project Mu HC+800s or Club Racers (can't decide which), or Endless MX72s. I've done some research on these already, but couldn't find much info on the Endless pads, or the Winmax pads. I've heard that the Winmax pads are pretty much Spoon pads? Is this Accurate? What does everyone prefer? What do you guys suggest?

It seems that the HC+800s have a great bite when cold so they seem like an awesome street and AutoX pad, but I'm concerned with them possibly fading at the track. Would the Club Racers be better suited?

Thanks for your help!
Old 08-01-2017, 04:00 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

What's wrong with stock pads?
Old 08-01-2017, 04:09 PM

Originally Posted by kwakhead
What's wrong with stock pads?