S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Cell Phone Choices

Old 07-04-2003, 03:17 AM

Received 1,416 Likes on 1,109 Posts
Default Cell Phone Choices

I've posted this in the electroncs forum but didn't get any replies so I thought I'd put it here for more exposure.

I have been carrying a Motorola StarTac phone for about 1 1/2 years. It is a pretty good phone except for the poorly designed antenna. I am connected through Verizon Wireless, and I have the family plan. Verizon is about the best provider in Northern New Jersey.

This evening I gave my phone to my oldest son and decided to buy myself a new phone. My choices are the following:

LG VX4400
LG VX10
Samsung A310
Motorola T720

Sound quality is very important to me as is convenience of the phone. The ability to send and receive calls is also important. I don't want a phone that has trouble when the signal strength is less then optimum. I do want to get one of these as this is the type of phone I prefer.

If anyone has any experience with any of them please give me your feedback and your expeience. Your comments will help me make up my mind. I am leaning towards the Motorola.

Thanks.
Old 07-04-2003, 03:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

you may get better feedback if you post this at some cellular forum. i, myself don't have one so i don't know much about them.
Old 07-04-2003, 04:20 AM

The ability to send and receive calls is also important.
I would definitely suggest one that does both!

I'm actually in the same boat. I was very happy with my StarTac, but it's time to upgrade.

Gary
Old 07-04-2003, 04:46 AM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

My son has gone to a lot of trouble (more than I ever would) to field test Verizon phones before a purchase. He has one he is very happy with and I have sent him a message.. will update this thread with his answer.

My thus far worthless post to help me find the thread again.
Old 07-04-2003, 04:57 AM