S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Issues powering up amp

Old 09-29-2006, 12:19 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Issues powering up amp

Okay guys, this is my first time attempting an install, so pardon my newbie questions.

I followed darkknight's 'how to' on wiring, but my amp doesn't seem to power up. What I have now is a Kenwood KAC 7202.

Tell me if this sounds right...4 gauge wire coming from the battery connecting to a little fuse box, through the firewall down the driver's side into the trunk, connected to another little fuse box that splits the power wire into 2, 8 gauge lines. (I have a second amp but only the one is currently connected. The remote lead is connected to the blue/white wire on the back of the head unit, and goes to the corresponding spot on the amp. I don't get what I'm doing wrong.

Here are some pics...not sure how much they'll help.

wiring on amp

remote lead on back of head unit
Old 09-30-2006, 01:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

alright , 2 ways to fix this... one go get a multimeter and learn to use it because it's the most helpful tool an electrition can have. There awesome. So number one , check all fuses... and by checking them I mean replace them with new ones... sometimes if you have a glass fuse at the front (by the battery) it may not look blown but the solder that holds the fuse part in place may have came loose in shipping , it happens , so replace that first. Second , check the settings on your radio to make sure the it has the AMP setting on... some radios have it some don't, if your unsure , quickly hook the blue amp wire (remote) to the red wire in the harness - that's ignition. that eliminates that problem , next check the ground location by trying another grounding spot, may have gotten a peice of metal but it may not be attached to anything...
Ok , the "easier" way , but harder if you don't know what your doing
Get a mulitmeter
set it to DC