S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

NEED Help! JVC kd-avx2

Old 04-24-2006, 08:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEED Help! JVC kd-avx2

Alright now.... let me explain what i did before anybody start thinking anything bad about the JVC kd-avx2... In Florida they got some gay law where you cant have video playing in the front or whatever... so basically i figured out what wire they had connected to my hand brake...its a light green on for all those who have the JVC... So i all i know is when i had the car on i just started playing with it and found out that if i touched the wire with other pieces of metal near the hand brake it would play video constantly no matter what if the hand brake was up or down.. so i had rigged it to jam in between a pin in the hand brake for temp. because i didn't have the tools to loosen up the hand brake nuttz where i intend on eventually putting it.... now what i did was grounding the wire but now the video on the jvc wont play at all, even if i put it back on the hand brake wire where it was installed at first........ any body know what i should do? i still got the warranty and everything but hopefully i didn't mess it up or did i?
Old 04-26-2006, 07:22 AM

Okay, I'll try this again. Wrote up a response yesterday but it got lost in the server issues.

Most states have the law you're talking about. Thus the green wire is added in. While it is bypassable, it usually keeps the companies who make the radio from getting sued.

When you jammed the ground wire into the parking brake area, there is a chance it was sitting in there loose. So, while moving around, it could have caused a short condition.

Take the radio door plate off and you'll see some gold color screws. Re-route the green wire up there (or find any other gold color screw) and, after putting one of the ciruclar shaped connecters onto the wire, attatch the wire to this screw.