S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

PIE HON-AUX Ground Wire - Help?

Old 01-15-2004, 06:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PIE HON-AUX Ground Wire - Help?

I received my PIE HA adapter with ground wire, currently installing it, and ran into a dilemma. I am going to run my PDA on a power adapter or battery-powered mp3 player on the stereo jack. Here's my problem:

If I were to ground the wire from the PIE adapter, the sound is fine off the battery-powered mp3 player but has a lot of noise if I used the PDA w/power adapter.

And if I were to use the PDA w/power adapter without grounding the wire, the sound has a lot of noise if I were to run from the battery-powered mp3 player.

What is the simplest solution so that I can run the devices from either battery or power adapter without encountering noise? I'm new to electronics and would appreciate some direction.

TIA!
Old 01-15-2004, 07:35 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

hrm. i'm fairly sure i know what causes this problem (ground loop hum), but i'm not 100% sure how to tell you to fix it...

i think you may be able to insert a 100 ohm (or so) resistor into line w/ the ground, and it might solve the problem. more likely you might have to use a ground loop isolator instead....
don't trust me 100% on these ideas, as i'm just not sure...

MacGyver or modifry may be a good choice to contact regarding this one... they fix this kind of stuff all the time, whereas i only do it once in a blue moon.
Old 01-15-2004, 09:40 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

The problem is that the ground wire is supposed to be used in one case, but not the other.

You are supposed to use the ground wire when you are using a self-powered device (like an iPod). If the device uses the power from the car, then you can't use the grounding cable (IIRC).

All I can suggest is trying to relocate the ground points to minimize the noise.
Old 01-15-2004, 09:50 AM