S2000 Forced Induction S2000 Turbocharging and S2000 supercharging, for that extra kick.

2013 setup track debut, IFO win

Old 01-22-2013, 11:29 AM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default 2013 setup track debut, IFO win

On Jan 20, Import Face Off came to Bradenton, FL which is about 25 miles away from where I live. I decided to race in the Forced Induction Sport class for fun. The last time I was at the track was Jan 2011 and I went 12.4 @ 118 on pump gas and ended the night with a broken diff due to wheel hop on street tires. That setup had all sorts of problems (cracked manifold being one of them) and I vowed never again to race on street tires. For this outing, I drove my car to the track, slapped on drag radials in the pits, and went racing. I was very cautious for a few reasons, the primary one (obviously) was fear of breaking. The second one was having an entirely new setup, and being a novice driver I had no idea how it would feel. I will write an extensive post soon detailing my setup, but the overview is as follows:

- Stock motor
- Full-Race sidewinder, open T3, single 44mm
- Precision 6262 .63 exhaust housing
- Single Walbro 400 (stock lines, stock FPR)
- Puddymod Stage 2 diff with 3.90 gear
- Hoosier Drag Radials on AP1's
- Shell URT fuel

Final numbers @ 26 psi

I know there will be a ton questions about the setup, but for now I want to concentrate on the racing.

I setup the two-step in the pits and set the launch limiter at 6500 building ~7.5psi out of the hole. I left this alone for the entire day. The only other changes I made to the car were lowering tire pressures and making adjustments to the boost in each gear between passes.

After doing some consulting with more "seasoned" racers, I made the decision to slip the clutch out of the hole. I know some people (Joeyballs) have had success with preloading with the e-brake, but I didn't have time to practice that so I just kinda winged it.

In the staging lanes: