S2000 Forced Induction S2000 Turbocharging and S2000 supercharging, for that extra kick.

What to do....Gasket? No Gasket?

Old 07-16-2005, 10:22 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default What to do....Gasket? No Gasket?

Guys I need some advice.

I have a 2mm gasket and going to be running lovefab's kit. I have the car all torn down except for pulling the head to put on the gasket. It seems like ALOT of work, and want to know if it really would be worth it. So you all know I am a very good mechanic with access to great tools so don't worry about that. Just that I don't have alot of time, and there are hasstles that come with every big project.

Has anyone pulled the head on there car before?
Did you have to completly remove the Intakemani or could you just pull it back?

I just want to know if it really is worth it for the extra 10 hours of work it is going to take me to pull the head.

Thanks

J. R.
Old 07-17-2005, 12:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Most people would say that the gasket is a piece of mind. With the gasket though you can run more boost and make more power. If you got it do it. But then again I did not think the gasket was something I needed to do to my car. I am going to run 8+lbs with conservative tuning. Along with regular check-ups on the retainers and such I don't think there will be a problem. There are many people not running gaskets and not having problems.

Just what I think.

-Chris
Old 07-17-2005, 07:08 AM

detonation is more a function of timing advance than it is compression. Although with more compression you run less timing advance. The more timing advance, the more power. I say timing advance makes more power than compression because you can have the BMEP rise for better compression.