S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

Advice on Clutch Replacement

Old 12-10-2019, 07:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on Clutch Replacement

Hi guys

I'm still a newbie to the motor so I'm turning here for some advice. I'm trying to replace the clutch through out bearing and pressure plate.
I've been told OEM is the best way to go up to 350 hp.
The car is slightly modified as I have run a different header
3" exhaust a 70mm skunk 2 tb and I ported the intake and polished it. I'm about to add a flex fuel sensor to the mix
Some id injectors and a fuel rail. I'm currently using an Aem v2.2 ecu.
I mentioned these because I want to know what's the best clutch to use I'm not going to be using forced induction but I want a lasting clutch.
I forgot to mention I'm using a 10lb flywheel
Can you guys ascertain whether it's best to replace everything with oem parts or is there a trusted kit I can purchase to install.
Kindly advise
Old 12-10-2019, 01:10 PM

Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts

oem throwout bearing
oem (branded FCC) clutch disc
oem throwout bearing guide
oem pilot bearing
oem clutch fork (if required)
oem slave boot (if required)

oem pressure plate - or ACT HD pressure plate if you want a firmer option
oem AP1 flywheel - or ACT Pro-lite flywheel as a lighter option

I believe this is the consensus from most on s2ki for cars that aren't boosted
The following 2 users liked this post by clio:
HawkeyeGeoff (12-11-2019), Jin_Muff (12-11-2019)
Old 12-10-2019, 02:11 PM

Received 1,283 Likes on 964 Posts

^this, but add in a release bearing guide from Honda and some HT urea grease.

If you go with ACT, I would strongly suggest a clutch interlock bypass and would also suggest only pushing the clutch long enough to shift (don't sit there at a stoplight with the clutch pushed in).