S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

Coil over suspension

Old 06-24-2019, 09:04 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Coil over suspension

I am looking at a coil over mod on my AP2 and was wondering if someone could provide some direction as to the best make to use.
I am new to the S2000 and could use some help.
Thank you
Old 06-24-2019, 09:21 AM
Jub

Received 386 Likes on 309 Posts

What are you really looking for? Only street driving? Track driving only? Autocross? Mix? Price range?

There is a lot of info if you search. 90% of people seem to want primarily a street damper with a strong ability to track and have a budget of 1.5 - 2.5k. This forum usually guides people to buy Ohlins DFV or Road and Track, whatever they're called at this moment. From all accounts, a good setup.
Old 06-24-2019, 09:35 AM

Received 1,251 Likes on 947 Posts

Originally Posted by Jub
What are you really looking for? Only street driving? Track driving only? Autocross? Mix? Price range?

There is a lot of info if you search. 90% of people seem to want primarily a street damper with a strong ability to track
The factory dampers do this....and they were included with the car.

Most people want to keep (or improve) the car's ability BUT not ruin it by lowering it.

Since OP hasn't mentioned any type of specific use, I am assuming its just either a street car with worn out shocks or he wants to lower it.

I would want to keep monotubes on this car, as a twin tube would likely be a downgrade from stock in terms of driving experience.

You should probably ask more specific questions, however.

The safest bet today is the Ohlins DFV, as the poster above me also said. It does pretty much everything well.

Fortune Auto is another alternative. Not quite as nice, but still an excellent overall street/track setup.
Old 06-24-2019, 10:23 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Coil over suspension