S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

AP2 Track Prep - Stages

Old 01-09-2012, 02:01 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default AP2 Track Prep - Stages

Background: In 2010, I bought a low mileage '07 S2K with I/H/E already installed and I installed 225/245 RS-3, race seats, track pads, harnesses and hard dog. Stock suspension. I have been doing track days since year 2000 or so, but mostly front wheel drive (one year of racing). I am an instructor, but I will say I am probably one of the slower instructors. I do push it here and there, but mostly out there for fun, not trying to "win the HPDE championship". I mostly use the S2K for track days and probably put about 2000 miles or so a year on the car. I have tracked the car in this configuration for a year now.

Goal: I am looking into having more "fun" with the car. So, I figure, it will be fun to slowly turn this into as close as a possible of a street legal track car. I will not do this all at once, and want to do this in stages. I will probably stay at whatever stage for a year or so and seeking advice on what to do when. Also, this is relatively a budget build. Below is what I "think" may be correct and just seeking opinions. (No ruleset, don't really care about autocross, just a fun setup)

Step 1: KW V3 or CS Coilovers=> it seems that these are a good compromise system. Not a race setup, but great for HPDE's, driving to the track, etc.
Step 2: rollbars=> Do I remove rear? Just buy bigger front? Get a matching set? Leave stock?
Step 3: Square setup=> Buy some bored out OEM rears for the front? (but if I go square, this will change my rollbar setup, correct? maybe even spring choice?)
Step 4: Aero=> splitter and wing
Step 5: R compounds? Engine? BBK?

Are my steps in correct order? Suggestion on what to do at that step? Whatever comments will be greatly appreciated.