S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Driving at the Limit of Street Tires?

Old 09-11-2007, 06:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driving at the Limit of Street Tires?

I've searched but couldn't find a thread that dealt with my question.

First, a little background... this is my first year doing track and autoX events. So far, I've done 9 autoX and 4 track events (6 days) with three other track events registered and more planned before the end of the year. My car's stock except for a K&N FIPK and a HD roll bar. I've run all these events on stock RE050 tires. I feel like I have improved my driving considerably since the beginning of the year. I've also read a few driving books to help me get there along with getting great instructors at track events. I realize I still have a lot to learn, but I think that's the fun part of it all.

My understanding is that I should stay with stock tires as long as I can so that I don't stunt my learning curve. A common advise that I've heard is not to switch to R compounds until "you're screeching the tires at every turn or driving at the limit of the tires." Based on my experience from autoX events, my times actually get worse if I'm constantly "screeching" or "sliding" my tires at the turns. I get my best times when I'm smooth and the tires make just a bit of noise here and there. I haven't timed myself yet at track events, but I'll get my first chance at the upcoming Redline event at Summit Point - Shenandoah.

So, the question is how do you know when you're driving at the limit of your street tries? Is there a certain type of noise or anything else that I should be looking for? My main reason for asking is I'd like to determine when I can/should switch to R compounds. Any advise would be appreciated. Thanks.

- Calvin.
Old 09-11-2007, 06:47 PM