S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Lifting Throttle to Rotate the S2K

Old 10-24-2006, 07:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lifting Throttle to Rotate the S2K

Having spent 25+ years in FWD cars, I'm still learning to drive the S2K on the track. With FWD, it took some serious throttle lifting to get the car to rotate in the turns. I realize that heavy throttle lifting in the S will send me off the track. But what about a slight lifting of throttle? Is that an accepted or recommended technique to rotate a RWD car in a turn, or is the textbook technique to give the car more gas and use counter-steer to drift through the turn's exit? BTW, I don't have that move down just yet. Any comments are appreciated. Thanks!
Old 10-24-2006, 08:04 PM
Administrator

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Absolutely! You do what works. Giving it gas will tend to lighten the front and cause push. A little lift works wonders when you need it. Ideally you shouldn't be lifting once you get on the throttle but it's not an ideal world.
Old 10-24-2006, 08:14 PM

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

more information on this would be helpful for me as well.
Old 10-24-2006, 08:42 PM

RSX,

Yes, I definitely use that technique in some corners. Most often, on turn-in a little lift will both rotate the car and weight the front end to give it some extra grip.

The heavy throttle lift ... send you off the track thing in my opinion doesn't happen in the situation you describe..that is to say when you are actually conciously thinking about weight transfer and vehicle control.

When people send themselves off the road with lift-off is when they do something that scares them and their first reaction is to lift (been there, done that, learned).
Old 10-24-2006, 08:42 PM