S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Looking for an entry level race car

Old 05-09-2018, 09:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for an entry level race car

Hello, 1st post here. I'm looking for a hobby to kill some time and as a retired fighter pilot I always enjoyed activities where I was going fast. As far as cars go I'm a beginner. I've owned some fast cars and have a few laps at the Nordschleife but never did anything stateside or formal. I've also got many track days on a motorcycle under my belt as well as Keith Code's superbike school. I've got a Harley but haven't owned a sport bike in nearly a decade. I considered just buying a new liter class bike and starting that hobby back up but in my upper 40s parts don't heal the way they used to, and time off work due to too much exuberance at the track is something I'd prefer to avoid. Basically I'm a car beginner but not completely new to the track scene. The car I think I want is the S2000 and was hoping for some advice on what I should be looking for in a used car, perhaps specific model years or options that will make the transition to race car less expensive, and for that matter what type of racing I should be doing. Thanks for your time.
Old 05-09-2018, 10:15 AM

Received 123 Likes on 98 Posts

Not exactly what you're looking for, but if you decide to go back to tracking bikes I would ignore the liter class sportbikes and try test riding a supernaked like the Tuono 1100, 1290 Superduke, or S1000R. They are stupid comfortable, stupid fast, handle very close to the super sport they are based on, have ABS / TC, and will out lap most people on built bikes WHILE being safer (less reliant on making time in the corners). Sportbikes make precisely zero sense unless you're looking for street cred from non-riders or specifically want to race the meatgrinder classes.

Just my advice.