S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Thinking of trying auto cross, have a quick question.

Old 02-28-2013, 06:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking of trying auto cross, have a quick question.

I've been thinking of going to a local solo event. I've been reading through the rules, and reading some threads around here, and am trying to determine what class I would be placed in. My AP1 only has two mods, an AEM v2 intake, and a set of AP2 rims. These were on the car when I bought them and I don't have the stock items to put back on. If I'm reading the rules right I'll have to enter a higher class, like street prepared, because some cutting was required for the intake. The rule talked about cutting "structure"' and while I don't consider cutting up a plastic splash shield as "structure" I'm guessing that the rules think differently than I do.

Obviously, as a novice I won't be competitive any time soon. I'm just concerned that I will be in a class where I will have no chance of ever being competitive because of a couple of mods. I'm sure it will still be fun, but to be constantly outmatched would grow old quickly.

Thoughts?

Thanks.
Old 02-28-2013, 06:34 PM

Most local groups won't care about a cai for str. If you don't intend to mod to str class I would recommend buying the stock parts and running rtr.

For now, though, just get out there and have fun.
Old 02-28-2013, 06:38 PM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by limbo
Most local groups won't care about a cai for str. If you don't intend to mod to str class I would recommend buying the stock parts and running rtr.