S2000 Street Encounters Stories of on-the-road exploits and encounters.

Effective racing techniques

Old 12-30-2003, 04:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Effective racing techniques

Can someone with a lot of racing experience describe in detail the best way to get the most out of the s2k? Also, I've heard the term "heel and toe" shifting thrown around a lot and wonder what it means. Yes, I'm new to sport cars...
Old 12-30-2003, 05:17 PM

Here is a step-by-step guide on how to heel-and-toe downshift. It will explain how to shift from fourth gear to third gear, though the technique will work for any downshift.

Begin braking for the corner with your right foot. The location of the pedals and the size of your foot will dictate where you position your foot on the pedal, but most likely it should be canted a little to the right, closer to the throttle pedal.

Push in the clutch with your left foot.

Move the shifter from fourth gear to neutral

This is the hard part. With your right foot still applying pressure to the brakes, roll the outside edge of your foot outward and downward to touch the throttle pedal. The pedal design on some cars makes this easier to do than on others. Use the outside of your right foot to blip the throttle. Blipping the throttle means temporarily raising the engine rpms to match the wheel speed. The exact amount of revs needed is dependent on a variety of factors, but it is usually between 1,000 rpm to 2,000 rpm more than the current engine rpm for a one-gear downshift.

Move the shifter from neutral to third gear.

Release the clutch with your left foot.