S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Dealer story, not too smart...

Old 11-20-2001, 09:05 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Dealer story, not too smart...

My dealer story, dumbest thing I have ever heard.

In the area that I live there are 4 Honda dealerships that are what I would call local. I have had a LOT of service done to my track car at local Honda Dealer A for the past 6 years. I discovered on this site local Honda Dealer B was listed as a friend of the marquee.

I go to Dealer B and ask to get S2000 at MSRP + hardtop + extended service. They say yes, I get MSRP for both car and hardtop plus the installation fee is waved along with the dealer's car prep fee and a good price on warranty. I'm happy it is a good deal, and I have had no past buying experience with this dealer.

Now I go to Dealer A and I speak to the Sales Manager. I tell him the deal I have been offered at Dealer B and ask him if he can beat it because I would like to get my car from the same place it is going to be serviced. I let him know the frequency the car will be serviced because it is a track toy so he can get a scope of the dollars to be spent. He speaks to the General Manager and comes back to let me know he will match the offer but will not beat it. I say no thanks, have a nice day, here is my card if you change your mind. I go home.

I'm back at the same Dealer A a week later to check out the new Suzuka color. I start up a friendly conversation with the Sales Manager and mention that I was really surprised he was not willing to beat Dealer B's price by even $100. And he says to me...