S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Difficulty level of wrenching

Old 03-28-2018, 07:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Difficulty level of wrenching

Hi,

I am looking into getting an s2000 as a fun car, and wanted to know how beginner friendly the car is mechanically. My experience working on cars starts and ends with an oil change. The S2000 is the sickest car out there so id be getting it either way, and working on it.
Old 03-28-2018, 10:11 PM

Received 72 Likes on 63 Posts

I would say compared to most cars the s2000 is relatively easy to work on.
Old 03-29-2018, 01:49 AM

Received 352 Likes on 209 Posts

I'm with riceball777 on the relative ease. I've been turning a wrench on the S2000 for 18+ years now and have been turning a wrench on cars since 1958 (Yea, I'm old.). Everything is straight forward and there is nothing that is outrageously difficult at the end of the day.
Old 03-29-2018, 03:07 AM

Received 256 Likes on 219 Posts

I agree it is straight forward unless you are getting into engine rebuilds - that sort of work is not straight forward on this car.
Old 03-29-2018, 05:11 AM

Received 340 Likes on 277 Posts

I cut my teeth on an old mazda, then another old mazda, then the 2000 civic. All in all, provided you have proper torque wrenches and a proper service manual, then the s2000 is pretty typical to work on. Not too tough over all for a mechanically minded owner.
darcy
Old 03-29-2018, 05:11 AM

Received 82 Likes on 70 Posts

S2K is the easiest car to work on I've ever owned. Compared to my previous platforms (N54 BMW, DISI Mazdaspeed, Etc) it is childs play. If this is your first car you're going to be wrenching on, it will fit you well.
Old 03-29-2018, 07:58 AM

Received 1,563 Likes on 929 Posts