S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

To Lower or, Not to Lower... ... That is the Question

Old 05-04-2001, 09:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm undecided about this, because I believe that the car would look better lowered (a bit). I notice, however; that most of you who have lowered your stooks don't have front chin spoilers.

My chin spoiler, @ stock heaght is already 1" from the entrance of my driveway when approaching at the most severe angle possible (without running over grass w/ rear tires).

By the way, this isn't my driveway (or house for that matter).

I was thinking about adjustable coilovers (I'm a real novice at this stuff, so please pardon my elementary questions). Do they typically let you raise to stock level? How is the ride @ various levels? Does the car have to be on a lift or jacked up to adjust? Any suggestions?

And of coarse, the main question, Lower or not lower????
Old 05-04-2001, 09:55 AM

Gary I've thought of lowering my Chinless S2k as well. Only 1/2 inch or so though. I don't like the look of a real lowered S2K (1 inch or more). It looks like the car is sitting on the wheels and to me does not look natural. Not to mention, I would think, that mainly lowering the car is performed (besides looks) for handling improvement. Too much on this car and I think you would start to forsake that. Given your already low clearance I probably would only lower a 1/2 inch MAX! However, I don't have any first hand experience in this and these are all just my opinions. Hey btw, where do you live? I'm from Owings Mills (Graduated from there), when to Towson State and all of my family still lives there. take care!
Old 05-04-2001, 10:02 AM

Since you have 'More to Come!' in your signature then just lower it, however in my opinion the car looks good as it is, I would just leave it.
Old 05-04-2001, 10:19 AM

Hey Silver,