S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Moving from 944na to S2k

Old 08-13-2006, 09:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Moving from 944na to S2k

Its my first post and I'm a newbie to the S2K - trying to learn as much as I can as fast as I can.

My beloved 85.5 944na sold this morning and I'm making ready to quickly close on a new S2k (either lease or buy - haven't decided)

I've driven the S2k twice now and will drive a few more times to be sure this is the right car. I was leaning towards a boxster s, but I really want an 05 and will have to wait on pricing and rates a little longer.

Regarding the S2k - I am really impressed by the technology and purpose purity of the car. The mild nature of the car, out of VTEC does not bother me for around town driving - my daily commute is about 12 miles, mostly highway.

Spirited driving in VTEC is completely fun and I like the beastly nature of the car in that mode too.

I cant help but draw some comparisions to the 944. Firstly, the front of the cars are similar with their wide fender flares - I love the styling.

Second, I cant help but think that if the 944 were built today as a normally aspirated it would be built the same way. Intake improvements, aggressive cam/VVT, and world-class suspension. The S2k has all this and more - including the slickest gearbox I have ever shifted, torsen LSD and stability control.

Reassure me guys, that this car will be all the fun my 944 was as a driving experience, as well as, afford me the opportunity to contunue to service and wrench on my own car (as much as a new car would require).
Old 08-13-2006, 10:10 AM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

While I've never driven a 944 I'd have to guess the S2000 is more fun to drive and probably more reliable.
Old 08-13-2006, 10:13 AM

Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts

The main difference between a 944 and a S2000 is going to be....

2000 - 944 = 1056

Whatever that means.