S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Realistic S2000 Value

Old 07-25-2018, 06:31 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Realistic S2000 Value

Hi All,

Long time lurker, I've been using this site for almost nine years now on the rare occasion I have an issue with my S, and much more often when I've fantasized about what I want to do to improve my car. This community has been an endless resource, and I regret not being a more active part of it. Unfortunately, I'm reaching the point where I feel my time with my S is coming to a close (likely within the next few months). I would love to restore the car and keep it, but I live in a city and don't have access to a second parking spot (short of renting another storage unit for my S or walking blocks to get to my hypothetical daily driver each day). On top of that, I move for work every 1-2 years, and the prospect of shipping a car each time just seems impractical. The S has ruined me for other cars, to the point that the most realistic car I can see replacing it with is a few year old Cayman S (which fortunately I'm in a position to fairly easily afford if that's the direction I decide to go)... believe me, compared to other options I considered, that is a reasonable and realistic choice lol .

My problem is this: I can't find an S2000 listed for even close to what I paid 9 years and 95000 miles ago, and I have no idea what these cars are worth these days, given that mine has been a daily driver. I'm hoping you guys can help me out and give me a realistic range. I normally go by book values, but those don't seem to even be in the ballpark of what S2000s are going for. I'll detail the car below, and thanks in advance for your help.