S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Redline, rear-wheel, and torque

Old 06-24-2008, 07:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Redline, rear-wheel, and torque

Hi everybody. This is my first post. I've been dreaming for some time for an S2000 and this month finally got serious. I have driven a few and plan to buy one. I've read a lot but have a few basic questions:

1. One thing that makes this car special is its 8000 rpm redline. Why is that a great thing? Obviously it sounds great when you reach redline, or at least it sounds loud, but what is desirable about a car that redlines so high, as opposed to a roadster that does not? Why is it unusual for roadsters to redline so high, and why did Honda choose to do so?

2. Why is this car, like most sports cars, rear-wheel drive? In recent years most cars, though perhaps not sports cars, have moved to front-wheel. Isn't front-wheel safer? Why do sports car drivers like rear wheel? Why should a non-pro driver want it?

3. The torque on the S2000 is relatively low, and that's a criticism various reviewers like to mention. Is there a good reason for the low torque until you get to high rpms, or is it just a compromise that's needed for having a fast car that's only four cylinders?

I've enjoyed this forum a lot and look forward to getting my S! Thanks.
Old 06-24-2008, 08:02 PM

1) The small engine(2.2 liters for an ap2) requires high rpms to make power. If you look at formula one cars, they have high revving(think 15k) small engines (think ~2.5-3 liters)

2) With front wheel drive, the wheels that turn the car also drive the car. It gives you a couple of negative things:
i) Understeer: When the car does not turn far enough because the wheels are trying to pull the car straight while you are turning