S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Ticket for lack of front plate

Old 08-02-2001, 06:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ticket for lack of front plate

As a MD driver, im required by law to have a front license plate. However, ive been driving since Nov2000 without one. Last weekend, i parked in Georgetown in Wash.DC. When i came back to my car, i had a $50 ticket for no front plate and get this... a "please tow" sticker on my trunk. Those a-holes were going to have my car towed for an equipment violation. I was parked in a legal spot BTW. Lucky i got back before they towed!

Anyway, it doesn't seem right that another state (or district) can ticket me and collect fines for another state's law. This is blatant revenue generation.
Old 08-02-2001, 07:17 PM

Is it not illegal to not have a front plate in D.C.? The cop was probably enforcing local law, not Maryland law...
Old 08-02-2001, 07:22 PM

So if i were from PA, which does not require a front plate, i could expect to receive a ticket in DC for no plate???
Old 08-02-2001, 07:31 PM

I just recently got a ticket in DC (have DC tags though and I'm a resident) for the same thing. Same "towing requested" marked on the ticket. My brother as well about a year ago. Now I just carry my front plate tucked next to my seat and stick it in the windshield when I leave. Parking enforcement on my campus is just crazy.

A MD state trooper just gave me a ticket while driving my friend's car with no front plate. This was the day after he was pulled over and given a fix-it ticket. I told my officer that my friend was given 2 weeks to fix it and just hadn't gotten around to it since it was only the night before that he was ticketed. Therefore I shouldn't get one. No luck and still got the ticket. So I guess our states are even now. Unfair tickets cancel out right?