S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Want to drop the car!

Old 09-16-2007, 09:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to drop the car!

I've finally decided to drop MY07, after much deliberation with..myself . I convinced myself that i would constantly pull out the plywood neccessary to get my car up my driveway and into the garage without wrecking my bumper. Now I'm stuck though, I'm not sure how to go about this process. I read somewhere that just buying lowering springs will throw off my handling and that the way to go is coilovers, yet at the same time, most fellow s2k owners that I come accross have used springs. Coilovers are obviously extremely expensive, but I sure as hell don't want to put something crappy on my pride and joy. If someone could explain which might be the better route for me, i'd sincerely appreciate it!

also, I don't track my S....as of yet, i'm new to the driving enthusiast world. I am also planning to go FI if that makes a difference..definately another reason the 3k price tag on some nice penske coilovers makes me cringe.

I really appreciate the help guys!
Old 09-16-2007, 09:52 PM
Jrz

I got some genuine Tein S springs put on for about 2 months now and from the 1st day I noticed that the ride is not that sporty. I noticed when I hit certain bumps or dips that that car bounces funny. I thought that it was just because I needed an alignment. Well, I waited for a little over a week for the springs to settle and got my alignment. The guys told me that only the camber was off by a little. The car still rides like that now so, after I use it a little more to get something back for what I spent, the moment I order new wheels, I'm getting some sort of lower priced coilovers. Please don't just go by my personal experience and wait for others to reply with their input as mine might be an isolated case. Good luck
Old 09-16-2007, 09:52 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts