S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

125K miles - Tune up & maintenance suggestions

Old 08-14-2011, 07:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 125K miles - Tune up & maintenance suggestions

My MY00 w/ 125K miles has been sitting in the garage for a while due to the birth of my daughter and the purchase of the 4-Runner. My wife is now able to stay at home with our daughter which has allowed me to enjoy the S again.

For the past month I've been bringing it back to life:

*Replaced the top w/ EZON glass conversion
*Replacing tires this week with Continental Extreme Contact DW
*Replaced spark plugs

Planning on:

*Replacing PCV
*Changing differential fluid
*Changing transmission fluid

Any other recommendation?

I'm a rookie mechanic at best. Planning on purchasing some jack stands and jack to get me started working underneath the car.

Thanks!
Old 08-14-2011, 07:36 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I hope you have changed the diff & trans oil at least once before 125K. I think the diff oil is supposed to be changed every 30K and the trans every 60K. PCV valve every 10K or 20K, forget which. Might want to have the axles checked for wear and read the axle nut re-torque threads. Remember to change the cabin air filter.
Old 08-14-2011, 07:45 PM

Received 3,462 Likes on 2,489 Posts

On top of all that do an oil change. if you can't siphon the old fuel out burn it off and fill with fresh fuel and run a bottle of Redline fuel injector and system cleaner through it, one bottle does two tanks. How's the air filter for cabin and intake ?. Did you ever adjust the valve clearances on it ?. How old is the coolant ?. Run the air conditioner for a bit to circulate the lubricant. Regrease the shifter as per the TSB on it.
Old 08-14-2011, 07:55 PM

Originally Posted by WarrenW