S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

6th Gear Issue - Ideas?

Old 07-01-2018, 11:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 6th Gear Issue - Ideas?

Hi all,

I've read through many threads about crunching/grinding gear issues but none seem to relate to my exact issue. If I have missed one out I apologise for this post.

Car is an 04 UK ap1 facelift, 67000 miles, is my daily driver but not abused, only driven hard on a weekend country road or if necessary. Never had an issue with the car, sails through MOT's, services etc.

So when the car is cold, it shifts fine in every gear. Can be a bit stiff but loosens when heated.
For the last week, When the car heats up, it will grind into 6th. Does this from any gear, and if I double clutch, in to neutral then into 6th. But it only does this when the car is hot??

First thing I've done is change the MTF but the issue remains.

Any ideas on a next step?

I'm not a mechanic and I'm learning as go with this car. Rather attempt things myself before putting it into a professional.

Cheers
Old 07-02-2018, 03:32 AM

Received 1,146 Likes on 1,008 Posts

Skipping gears is not the best practice according to what seems like consensus here. Shifting into 6th should be made from 5th following this advice. No need to release the clutch in 5th, just select it before selecting 6th to slow the synchros.

Grasping at straws here:
Have you greased the shifter? Requires removing the console and shift lever to get in there. It's possible to put the stick back in backwards but I recall that just locks out Reverse.

What did you put in the gearbox? Heat and friction are related. I don't have a stiff gearbox at any driving temperatures so I'm wondering what's in there. I've used OEM Honda manual gearbox oil and Royal Purple SyncroMax.

-- Chuck
Old 07-02-2018, 07:58 AM

Received 75 Likes on 45 Posts

Originally Posted by Chuck S