S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Advice - Good Engine pulled Apart

Old 03-25-2018, 02:12 PM

Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Advice - Good Engine pulled Apart

I purchased an S2000 AP1 engine with approx 40,000. The previous owner (whom I trust), was going to spec up the oem unit for a track car. Their plans changed abruptly and it ended up in my hands. I am now going to reassemble the engine.
I am quite familiar with engines - but I'm not a mechanic. I'm seeking a bit of advice in putting the engine back together
This is what I'm thinking:
The block is still complete, so crankshaft, rods, pistons etc are all good (the bores look pristine too).
I am going to purchase oem head gasket, head bolts, AP2 retainers and cotters for the inlet side, valve stem seals, rocker cover seal, spark plug seal.
I have replaced AP2 retainers on my S2000 prior so I'm familiar with what's involved to that point, but installing the head etc will be new to me. I have a workshop manual and obviously will be torquing everything to spec.
If somebody with experience has some pitfalls or advice please chime in. Thanks.

As an aside it's a JDM engine with the higher compression ratio.
Old 03-25-2018, 02:57 PM

Received 416 Likes on 347 Posts

Get new rings gap them carefully on only one side and make sure the ends are parallel. Go OEM. No honing needed just break in the rings like a new engine.
Old 03-25-2018, 03:07 PM

Received 358 Likes on 333 Posts

Follow the workshop manual
measure the head is in within "spec" as its prone to distort if removed incorrectly.
Old 03-25-2018, 04:55 PM

Originally Posted by Slowcrash_101
Get new rings gap them carefully on only one side and make sure the ends are parallel. Go OEM. No honing needed just break in the rings like a new engine.