S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

autolite xp26 iridum spark plugs

Old 06-18-2010, 08:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default autolite xp26 iridum spark plugs

has anyone heard anything about these spark plugs. how would they compare to like denso and would they even work in an s2000
Old 06-18-2010, 09:32 PM

spark plugs wont give you any gain in hp. as a toyota tech, i recommend sticking with oem plugs, denso or ngk made for your car
Old 06-19-2010, 03:24 PM

Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts

But I thought the ones with 5 prongs instead of one give you 5 times the spark power which equates to 5 times the explosion which means you get 5 more hp and 5 more mpg. That's what the directions say. And they cost 5 times as much and last 5 times as long, so I won't have to buy new plugs for a half million miles, right?
Old 06-19-2010, 03:30 PM

As R3 said, I would stick w/ oem NGK. I ran bosch iridiums once and nearly killed my car. Ran way too hot and the porcelain cover went loose and nearly cracked.
Old 06-19-2010, 05:34 PM

Originally Posted by davidc1,Jun 19 2010, 03:24 PM
But I thought the ones with 5 prongs instead of one give you 5 times the spark power which equates to 5 times the explosion which means you get 5 more hp and 5 more mpg. That's what the directions say. And they cost 5 times as much and last 5 times as long, so I won't have to buy new plugs for a half million miles, right?
Unless the laws of physics/electricity have changed,
it will ONLY spark to ONE of the 5 prongs, only one.

If the spark plug has more than one prong, it's just a marketing gimic. There can be nothing gained from those spark plugs.
Old 06-19-2010, 06:03 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by davidc1,Jun 19 2010, 06:24 PM
You have this confused with installing lots of JDM type stickers \ decals.
Old 06-19-2010, 06:14 PM