S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

clutch fluid - ATE Super Blue?

Old 05-19-2005, 09:53 AM
mav

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default clutch fluid - ATE Super Blue?

Yes I searched and didn't find a lot about clutch fluids.

I'm planning to brake out my brake and clutch fluids this Saturday. I'm looking at either the ATE Super Blue or Motul RBF 600. My S2000 is a weekend toy, occassionally auto'ed but never tracked, so I'm looking for something better than OEM but nothing extreme.

I've read here that the Motul RBF 600 can be used for both brake and clutch fluid. What about the ATE Super Blue? Can that be used for the clutch fluid as well?

Oh and how many bottles do I need to pick up?

Dumb question, I know. I'm no expert so I want to be 100% sure I'm getting the right stuff. Thanks.
Old 05-19-2005, 10:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Id just put in a normal brake fluid in the clutch. There isnt any real reason you need a more race fluid. The clutch doesnt run into any heat related problems like the brakes do. Plus the motul or ATE absorb water much eaiser than a more standard fluid, meaning you will have to change it much more often. Not worth it IMO
Old 05-19-2005, 10:31 AM
mav

Thanks JDMwhore. So the OEM Honda DOT 3 brake fluid should suffice for my clutch?
Old 05-19-2005, 10:33 AM

I also just use regular Honda DOT3 brake fluid in the clutch.

1) comes in small bottles (very little is needed)
2) cheap
3) unlike track brake fluid, is intended to stay in the car for several years
4) clutch does not have the high temp problems the brakes have

I have never bled the clutch fluid. I have flushed it once (after two years). I plan to flush it again this winter (still on a two-year cycle).
Old 05-19-2005, 10:55 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Standard brake fluid will be BETTER than hi-performance brake fluid in your clutch since it is less hydrophillic.
Old 05-19-2005, 01:59 PM

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts