S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Comptech = Nightmare!

Old 06-13-2002, 07:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Comptech = Nightmare!

Purchased a CAI from comptech May 10th, did not receive it untill June 10th due to back order. Today I paid an Acura/Honda Mechanic and my personel mechanic to install this piece of equipment. I am not a mechanic an figured I should have one put this in for me.

The install was very smooth. The directions were not hard to follow. The only unfortunate thing is that in order to use this I have to remove my hood.

I can not close the hood. The directions say to push down hard enough to crush the foam around the hose under the new airbox.

DID this, no improvement. So I removed the entire airbox put the filter back on and the hood would close 3 of 4 times.

If anyone has any advise please let me know what to do.

Otherwise I will be shipping this BACK to comptech this week. Once in this looks like such a cheap design that I may return it based on that alone.

I am entirely disappointed.
Old 06-13-2002, 07:33 PM

Get an Injen, I just got mine about a month ago. I absolutely love it, looks and sounds great.
Old 06-13-2002, 08:21 PM

Don't blame Comptech. I'd talk to your installer. The airbox is the same as that used for the supercharger and it fits nicely under the hood. Unless your installer doesn't know what he or she is doing.
Old 06-13-2002, 09:38 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

just finished installing mine - about an hour ago actually. I didn't have any clearance problems as noted. with the help of blake and matt (infinitebass & azreal) we got it resolved before the issue came about. there is the bolt that holds down the "box" at the bottom to an EXISTING airbox mount - if this is NOT tightened down, and is not flush, your hood will not close.
Old 06-13-2002, 09:52 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts