S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

which diff mount to go with?

Old 11-06-2018, 10:55 AM

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Default which diff mount to go with?

I am a street driver, not going on the track other than the occasional day. I have an 04 and it's stock...

I need a differential mount, the rt rear is leaking so I am thinking replace with the rubber/polyurethane type. A kit of 4 is about $160.00 on amazon.

Question #1 anyone have any experience with aftermarket differential mounts?

Question #2, whose do you recommend?

Question #3 I am thinking they have rating in terms of stiffness....they start at 60, then go to 75, WHATEVER that means, anyone have any idea of which one to buy to have a stock controlled ride??

Thanks
Old 11-06-2018, 11:11 AM
Site Moderator

Received 345 Likes on 300 Posts

If the rest of the car is stock I would stick with OEM. Any aftermarket mount is going to introduce more vibrations even their softest rated ones and there really isn't any point on a car thats otherwise stock. I have a set of Spoon diff mounts that are slightly stiffer than OEM but even those cost a good deal more than the OEM mounts.
Old 11-06-2018, 12:13 PM

Received 1,315 Likes on 993 Posts

Perhaps the mounts that produce the most NVH when going poly are the diff mounts. You'll hate them on a street car.

Go rubber, preferably with oem.

If you want better responsiveness yet still retain most of the oem smoothness, get diff collars (and new rubber mounts, preferably oem). They work surprisingly well.
Old 11-07-2018, 10:41 AM

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts

after more research I went oem from honda and got all 4 mounts, thanks.
Old 11-07-2023, 07:43 PM

Received 109 Likes on 70 Posts

Originally Posted by Car Analogy
Perhaps the mounts that produce the most NVH when going poly are the diff mounts. You'll hate them on a street car.

Go rubber, preferably with oem.