S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

DIY Spark Plug replacement(pics)

Old 05-10-2008, 10:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY Spark Plug replacement(pics)

Okay first off, the waiver. This is what i did, it is a guideline, not a procedure. But i am a total rookie so there are some good newbie observations that should help you to prepare for what you have to do. So dont mess up and blame me please.

Okay, you will need

*new plugs, (four of them) NGK get em from Bap Geon. $13.92 each.
*Allen Key set for plug cover
*10mm for the coil pack screws
*Spark Plug Socket
*Torque wrench

Okay, try not to do this on a hot engine. Only because it will burn you! Lesson learned.

First start by removing the Spark plug cover. I dont now the allen size. (sorry)
Remove the four screws

Next you will want to remove the coil packs. Do this using a 10mm socket. Extract (remove) the coil pack, it is pretty long. Also, only do one at a time, pull the coil pack and then the spark plug and replace the coil pack.

Continue with each pack/plug in the same fashion. NOTE: I used power tools to make the job go faster. DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. If you use power tools, you can strip the threads in the head if the bolts get cross threaded.

Next is look at your plugs.
the one on the right is horrible. The probe is covered with build up. The one on the left is just fine.

now check the gap. They should be gapped to about .039-.043, you should not adjust the gap at all. But do make sure to check it. If it is out of spec, take the plug back and ask for another. Do not try to gap the OEM plugs.

I put anti-seize on the plug's threads. Use a very very small amount. Too much anti-seize will throw off the torque when you try to tighten the plugs, which can let them back out (if they back out, they can ruin the head). NOTE: the brand of anti-seize I used was Loc-Tite. DO NOT use the red or blue Loc-Tite that is made to keep bolts from loosening.