S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Fresh engine

Old 02-15-2007, 10:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fresh engine

So I've been a mechanic for 11 years and I was always told when you rebuild an engine you should never WOT or rev it very high for 500-1000 miles, this was always when I was rebuilding 350's etc. What say ye on the little 4 cylinder engines? personally I would never rev it until it had some miles on it. Recently I ran into a few people saying it doesn't matter. I had a discussion with an engineer tonight and he says the main bearings need to wear(break in) so do not rev it for a good amount of time. What do you guys think?
Old 02-15-2007, 10:51 PM

some people say to drive it hard from the beginning..Not too sure. I knot he owner before me drove it hard from the beginning and my car runs strong it dynoed a good amount higher than other ap1s that dynoed the same day as me. But id say u dont have to baby it but dont abuse it either.
Old 02-15-2007, 11:21 PM

With a brand new fresh motor your going to want to let it run for a little bit, at idle. Change the oil, Refill the oil and dont be revving the motor out, stay under vtec. Its like breaking in a new clutch, if you beat on it the disc might glaze over. So with a new motor you want your rings to seat properly, Id suggest driving like a grandma for 1000 miles, and really not begin to beat on it untill 1500 miles are on it and you get it checked out to make sure everything is dialed in correctly. Some motors you can build and boost the shit out of them, and its allright. I have seen it a few times and the cars still run great todat even with 28lbs of boost running threw them, and them making 500whp+.... But i know if i just put some doe into a new motor i would take it easy and break it in!
Old 02-15-2007, 11:59 PM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

If this is a factory fresh motor the manual is very specific about the break-in of the motor.