S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

P0505 - Really need some help

Old 05-08-2008, 07:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P0505 - Really need some help

Hey guys, new to the forum and am really looking for some help with an engine light in a 2001 S2000. I know I am a newbie to this forum, and really hope that someone can shed some light on this possible problem I am having. I do have a decent history with working on Honda's, and have stumbled accross your forum trying to find some help into solving this engine light issue.

The car is not mine, but a customers of mine. Its a 2001 S2000 that had been in a roll over and repaired. The customer had bought the car and only after a week of owning it (an 100km's of driving it), we had installed a ZEX nitrous kit. Due to user error, the car had experience a nitrous backfire in the intake manifold. After the back fire, the car would start, run for a second, and die. After scanning the car, and having a map sensor code come up, we had replaced the map, reset the codes, and the car started, ran and worked fine. After two weeks, in stop and go city driving, the car would develop a staggered idle, and the CEL comes on.