S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Rod bearing failure first time in VTEC after rebuild

Old 09-21-2019, 11:17 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Rod bearing failure first time in VTEC after rebuild

So this'll be the third rebuild of this engine..

First time I think I let the oil level get too low (I know) and too many high g turns and zero g situations and that meant the first rebuild:

0.5mm (20 thou) grind on the mains and there was 1 tiny (I mean tiny) score in one of the bores - since it was open I thought a 0.25 (10 thou) overbore, mahle gold pistons, rods, new diy aluminum flywheel (I'm an engineer) and I made a full set of pulleys and tensioners.

Oil pressure was a little low, and there was a bit of a rattle coming from somewhere (never did find out), but eventually the ring gear fell off my flywheel, so I decided to pull the engine apart to work out the rattling.

Turned out the mahle's had eaten all the bores this time. I decided the slightly low oil pressure could've been the cause so I've had the mains hard chromed and ground to standard size, the bores sleeved and installed 'standard' wiseco pistons

Oil pressure was much better this time, ran it in fine, first time into VTEC rpm and something went funny, oil pressure guage didn't drop (but it's electronic and quite show), it may have actually gone into VTEC and dropped straight back out (presumably the VTEC oil pressure sensor didn't read high enough?) But yeah, engine broken.

Limped it home with low oil pressure, decided to have a look at the VTEC solenoid and it was a bit gritty, cleaned it all out and after starting the oil pressure read much better (although it had had 10 mins to cool off.