S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Royal Purple question

Old 07-25-2018, 04:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Royal Purple question

After reading through many threads it seems that people don’t really like/use Royal Purple products. Did I read over something? An additive that doesn’t play well with Hondas Just being curious.

Thanks
Chris
Old 07-25-2018, 05:29 AM

Received 1,451 Likes on 973 Posts

In engine, transmission, and/or differential? I've been using RP Synchomax in the tranz, since I bought the 2007 model, several years ago. I like it, in terms of shifting "feel." I use 5W-30 Mobil One Extended, in engine and Mobil One 75W-140 in the diff ---> For the last four changes.

Old 07-25-2018, 05:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok cool. From what I read most are using AMSOIL products. I think your using exactly what LHT Performance uses in there cars. SOS uses Castrol GTX oil. I do not remember what they use for trans and diff fluid. SakeBomb Garage I think uses Motul products.
Old 07-25-2018, 06:49 AM

Received 1,227 Likes on 948 Posts

Originally Posted by UTRN
Ok cool. From what I read most are using AMSOIL products. I think your using exactly what LHT Performance uses in there cars. SOS uses Castrol GTX oil. I do not remember what they use for trans and diff fluid. SakeBomb Garage I think uses Motul products.

Assuming you mean engine oil...

Well, beware that while Amsoil is good oil, their salesman are like snake oil salesman, and there is a LOT of propaganda by Amsoil folks talking about how Royal P or some other oil basically destroyed their car in one oil change, or how other oils burned away in no time while they burn zero with Amsoil. Yeah it is good oil .. no it is not magic and no those other oils did not put the death sentence on their engine.