S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Ticking during idle, thoughts?

Old 12-31-2017, 06:22 AM

Received 86 Likes on 55 Posts
Default Ticking during idle, thoughts?

I have a ticking at idle that seems to have gotten worse after a recent valve adjustment and I'd like to get some thoughts on what it could be. I've listened to like 50 other S2000 engine ticking videos and suspect an improper valve adjustment but am not 100% sure. Car is stock with a recently added Billman TCT.

The ticking seems to become more pronounced when warmed up, and the second video taken a couple days ago sounds as if it's not uniform in the idle ticking.

Old 12-31-2017, 08:14 AM

Received 256 Likes on 219 Posts

I sometimes take a card board tube (shipping tube or something like that) and hold it to my ear and move the other end around to see where a noise is coming from. Or, you could probably get fancy with a mic, amp, and headphones.

I'm no expert. But, my understanding is that if a valve is noisy the noise often goes away when the engine gets hot because valve noise is generally caused by loose value gaps and the gaps gets smaller with the expanding metal (the gap settings are designed with that in mind). So, if the noise get worse when the engine is hot, my first thought would be its probably not valve noise caused by maladjustment.

That engine sounds pretty good to me. But, what do I know?

Last edited by rpg51; 12-31-2017 at 08:23 AM.
Old 12-31-2017, 09:24 AM

Received 1,332 Likes on 1,004 Posts

Some amount of ticking is normal. These cars are noisier than most production cars.

If a valve needed adjustment, it usually gets noisier after its properly adjusted. As valve seat wear occurs, clearances get tighter, which makes valve quieter. Then when its adjusted back to proper spec, its looser, and noisier. So its possible all is normal.